Donnie Simpson is back on the radio

For the past couple of weeks radio station Majic 102.3 has been talking about a big surprise announcement coming up on August 3.  Well the big announcement was Donnie Simpson coming back to radio.  Yessssssssss!!!  The #DMV is happy.

DonnieSimpson

DonnieSimpson2

(Silver Spring, MD…August 3, 2015) – When Donnie Simpson left the Washington D.C. radio airways in 2010 culminating a 41 year media career in radio, television and movies, the biggest question asked was, “What’s next for Donnie?” It is five years later and Donnie is returning to his first love, radio and television.

Media conglomerate, Radio One, Inc., the only African-American owned and targeted diversified media company in the country, tapped its radio broadcast company and its cable network, TV One, to bring Donnie Simpson out of retirement and back on-air in DC on WMMJ MAJIC 102.3 FM and as the newest TV One talent.

The multi-year agreement for both radio and television include Donnie hosting The Donnie Simpson Show afternoons (3p – 7p) on MAJIC 102.3 as of Monday, August 17th, and a collaboration between TV One and Donnie Simpson Productions to create programs that will have Donnie back on TV by the fourth quarter of this year.

I was on my way home on the subway this afternoon checking out Twitter when I saw a news item that Donnie was coming back to radio. But the announcement wasn’t officially made on 102.3 until 5:00pm.  I got home just in time to hear it and listen to Donnie for about an hour.  Man I love hearing his voice.  I use to listen to Donnie on WKYS during the 1980’s where he worked with Tony Perkins who’s now on D.C.’s Fox5 News.

I eventually followed him to WPGC and I watched him on BET’s Video Soul. I stopped listening to WPGC after a while, switched to Smooth Jazz 105.9, WHUR and now Majic 102.3.  I’ll admit that I don’t listen to radio as much as I use to.  I listen to SiriusXM The Groove along with a few other channels in my car and at home (I have a tabletop satellite radio).  At work I switch back and forth between listening to Majic 102.3 and my ipod. Since Donnie is back I will be listening to 102.3 more often.  He starts on Monday August 17 and he’ll be on the air from 3:00pm to 7:00pm along with Huggy Lowdown.

Not only will Donnie be back on radio.  He will also be on TVOne by the end of the year.  Alright now 🙂

Like I mentioned he stayed on the air for about an hour today after the announcement and played some really good music.  If what I heard in that one hour is any indication of what he will be playing well I’m looking forward to it.  The last song he played before he went off the air was one of my favorite Michael Jackson songs, The Lady In My Life.  Love that song.  Donnie dedicated the song to his wife Pam.  When Donnie was on WKYS the last song he would play before his show was over was The Commodores’s Jesus Is Love.

Check out this article from the Washington Post when Donnie left WPGC back in 2010.

Welcome back to radio and tv Donnie Simpson 🙂

Leave a Reply

Nia Forrester Books

Woman-Centered Fiction for Today's Woman of Color

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

