Sleeping with your smartphone

A study released by Bank of America stated that a lot folks are bringing their smartphones to bed. According to the survey amongst those who responded 71 percent said they sleep with or next to their smartphones and 3 percent slept with their phones in their hand. Millennials make up the largest number of people who sleep with their smartphones.

sleeping_with_smartphone

The survey was conducted among 1,000 Bank of America account holders, age 18 and above, who also own smartphones. A large majority of respondents, 71 percent, said they usually sleep with or next to their mobile phone — and 3 percent of those people said they sleep with their device in their hand, 13 percent said they keep it on the bed and 55 percent leave it on the nightstand.

Almost one in four said that at one time or another, they’ve fallen asleep with their smartphone in their hand.

Thirty-five percent of respondents said their smartphone is the first thing they reach for when they wake up. Only 17 percent said they grab coffee as soon as they wake up, 13 percent said they go for their toothbrush and just 10 percent said they reach for their significant other.

When it’s time for me to go to bed my smartphone stays downstairs recharging. Just like my ipad.  Cause I’m old school and have a landline phone. Yes some of us still have landline. I couldn’t sleep with my smartphone yet I’m not a millennial. Maybe that has something to do with it.  And when I get up in the morning the first thing I want is a cup of coffee not my smartphone. When I want to go online right away I grab my ipad.

Almost half of all the respondents in Bank of America’s survey (44 percent) said they couldn’t make it a day without their smartphone. Additionally, 23 percent of respondents said they check their phone every few minutes, and 29 percent said they look at their phone every 5 to 10 minutes.

Stats about mealtimes weren’t encouraging, either. Thirty-seven percent of respondents said they text during meals, and 32 percent admitted texting mid-conversation. Millennials seem to be worse offenders than older age groups, with 55 percent engaging in mealtime texting, and 49 percent texting during conversations.

If I’m tethered to anything it’s my ipad. But I don’t take it to bed with me. I know when to let go 😉

Check out the entire survey results here. You must have Adobe Reader to read this pdf document.

Leave a Reply

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

Dru Ealons

Traditionally Modern ~ Thats My Point of View

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

