News never looked so good

Through all the years I’ve been watching the news I never paid attention to the looks of male news anchors and reporters. To me they just deliver the news.  But lately NBC News4, which has been my favorite for years, has been hiring some serious eye candy lately. Two young male reporters have caught eye: Aaron Gilchrist and John Schriffen:

Aaron Gilchrist hails from Richmond, Virginia where he worked for the NBC affiliate WWBT. He graduated from Virginia Commonwealth University. Aaron is a reporter for NBC News4 and he’s also the weekend news anchor with Kimberly Suiters.  You can read more about Aaron here.

John Schriffen hails from New York City.  Though he graduated from Dartmouth College he also attended Howard University where he worked at The Hilltop student newspaper.  John is a general assignment reporter for NBC News4.  Check out more about John here.  Washington Life Magazine has an interview with John.

News4 reporter John Schriffen is nothing short of passionate when it comes to his career and the world of journalism. Schriffen sits down with us to elaborate on his transition to news and his move to the nation’s capital:

How did you become interested in a career in journalism?
Back in college I had an internship at ESPN’s “Pardon the Interruption.” I used to bring my writing samples to Tony Kornheiser and Michael Wilbon, the hosts of the show. Tony would always look at me and say “Its good, but it needs to sound more like you.” That’s when I realized I actually have a voice. I graduated from Dartmouth and got my first break on TV as a sports anchor/reporter with News 12 The Bronx. I made my fair share of mistakes and Michael and Tony weren’t around to shield me from my news director, but honestly – it made me tougher. I wasn’t afraid to ask the hard questions. That’s what makes a good reporter. My news director decided to put me on both sports and local news and its then that I realized the thrill of breaking a good story and listening to viewers on the street. As cheesy as this may sound, I love helping people by giving them a voice.

Check out the entire interview here.

2 responses

  1. Sorry people…John Schriffen has a long-time girlfriend who he is very much in love with.

  2. Why doesn’t John Schriffen be honest and come out of the closet?

Leave a Reply

Nia Forrester Books

Woman-Centered Fiction for Today's Woman of Color

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

