Did Kraken Opus rip me off?

Back in August 2009 I blogged about a new book coming out called the The Official Michael Jackson Opus.

The book is published by a company called Kraken Opus.  I pre-ordered the book in September 2009.  The book was supposed to be shipped before Christmas.  The company stated in an email that if you ordered the book before December 1 you would receive your book before Christmas.

Dear customer,

As publisher of The Official Michael Jackson Opus, the Opus Media Group would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your contribution to the extraordinary and unprecedented demand for what we believe is a fitting tribute to a true legend.

We wanted to provide you with a delivery update for your Opus. Following the hugely successful launch of The Official Michael Jackson Opus in Los Angeles earlier this week, inclement weather conditions and customs intervention have caused us to adjust our shipping schedule slightly for the Opus. Below is the updated Opus shipping schedule:

For Opus orders placed before December 1:
Rest assured that your Opus will be delivered well before Christmas and, in the majority of cases, by December 18 2009. To help you better track your package, once your order is fulfilled, you will be sent a shipping email and tracking code from Fedex, either later today or early next week.

For Opus orders placed December 2 and after:
Opus Media Group will make every effort possible to ensure these are also delivered before Christmas, but we can only guarantee delivery before Christmas for orders placed before December 1. To help you better track your package, once your order is fulfilled, you will also be sent a shipping email and tracking code from Fedex.

We know your Official Michael Jackson Opus will provide you with beautiful and lasting memories of Michael Jackson. We sincerely thank you for your patronage and your patience.

Have a great holiday.

Sincerely,

Opus Media Group.

customercare@michaeljacksonopus.com

Well it’s January 7, 2010 and I still haven’t received The Official Michael Jackson Opus book which was paid in full in September 2009.  I haven’t received a tracking code either.  Apparently this company took my money and ran with it.  I have sent several emails to different email addresses at Kraken Opus and haven’t received one response.

What makes me so angry is that one of the folks at Kraken Opus named Jeff Wald, who is the President COO of the Opus Media Group in North America, posted on a Michael Jackson message forum before Christmas that everyone in the United States has received their books.   I was pissed when I read this.  No Jeff Wald, everyone in the United States hasn’t received their book.  And it’s obvious that the folks at Kraken Opus aren’t responding to emails.  I paid these crooks $193.00 and they can’t even respond to an email?

Since these crooks refuse to respond to my emails on Monday I will be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau about this mess.  Either send me my book or send me a refund and I’ll order the book from Amazon.com.  Never had any problems with Amazon and they don’t take your money until they ship your order.

17 responses

  1. extortionate prices for ridiculous trade-subsidised books
    DO NOT BUY!

  2. I FIND IT REMARKABLE THAT THIS OUTFIT, KNOWN AS KRAKEN OPUS IS STILL IN OPERATION.

    THE COMPANY PERSISTENTLY OFFERS THESE BOOKS AT RIDICULOUS PRICES, ONLY TO TAKE THE MONEY AND IN MANY CIRCUMSTANCES, NOT DELIVER THEM, AND KARL FOWLER, CEO TO MAKE THREATS, EXPECTING EVERYONE TO BACK DOWN.

    QUESTION: HOW MANY OF THESE BOOKS ARE REALLY MADE?

    QUESTION: HOW MANY OF THESE BOOKS ARE ACTUALLY KEPT IN STORAGE?

    QUESTION: HOW CAN A COMPANY GO INTO LIQUIDATION AND BE ALLOWED TO TRADE THE FOLLOWING DAY?

    QUESTION: HOW MANY OF THESE SO CALLES LIMITED EDITION BOOKS ARE DUPLICATED?

  3. Roxanne,

    Please look at the post just above yours. There are links there to show you some of the updated information. And stay in touch on my blog:

    http://calimjfan.blogspot.com

    Or Friend me on Facebook (A link is on my blogsite)

    Much L.O.V.E.
    Cali

  4. Hi Cali… Please keep up your good work. The quicker this crook is locked up, the better. After previous experience with this company, i urge anyone to do their homework and you will realise Karl Fowler is nothing but a crook…….

  5. Hi,

    I ordered in the fall of last year from Ticketmaster. I received the book but no opus reality card or code or whatever. What’s the update on that?

  6. Hi Sheryl (and anyone else reading this about the Reality card/site)

    I posted this information on April 8 about where you can file a complaint, with information as well as snapshots from Kraken’s site. http://calimjfan.blogspot.com/2010/04/file-complaint-no-opus-reality.html

    In addition, because Kraken is located in the UK, there is another government agency that helps consumers with companies outside the US: http://calimjfan.blogspot.com/2010/07/another-place-to-file-complaint.html

    Since I don’t know what country you are from Sheryl, I don’t know if you’re also affected by the promise Kraken made to only a limited few countries (providing them with a limited edition Nate Giorgio print– which by the way, has NEVER been – nor never will be – sent.)

    BUT… I am happy to say I have something that all MJ fans will love– an exclusive look at Nate Giorgio– with some rare MJ sketeches. These are exclusive to my blog– from Mr. Giorgio to the fans.

    ENJOY! http://calimjfan.blogspot.com/2010/08/showcase-5-nate-giorgio-rare-look.html

    IF you or anyone else either wants more info on the Opus, or has still not received theirs (and YES, there’s still people… *shakes head*) please email me at cali_mj_fan@yahoo.com

    Thanks LadyRayne for always being so kind to induldge my lengthy posts!
    Much L.O.V.E.
    Cali

  7. got ripped off too. got the book but nor reality card.

  8. Thanks so much LadyRayne. The numbers are going down thank goodness… but it has been one helluva ride. I started looking into a class action suit to file against them on behalf of all the MJ fans back in March. That got the President/Ceo/Founder’s attention in Guernsey. We’re into about 20 or less that I know of– down from hundreds and thousands… so it’s getting better. As a matter of fact, someone in Thailand just got their order TODAY! YAY!

    I’ll keep going till every fan has their book!
    Much L.O.V.E.
    Cali

  9. Cali, thanks for helping everyone. I can’t believe people are still having problems getting their MJ books. It’s July and I thought all the orders would have been received months ago. That’s one messed up company.

    I’m a Prince fan but there is no way I would pay $2,100 for a book, especially from Kraken Opus.

  10. I have helped many around the world (literally) get their MJ Opus, who ordered directly through Kraken Opus (UK) and Ticketmaster (who most ordered through on Kraken Opus’ behalf prior to January 2010). If you ordered through either of these official vendors and still have not received your MJ Opus, please email me at cali_mj_fan@yahoo.com Include the country you are in and the date of your order and I will contact Kraken Opus on your behalf. The sites mentioned above to file complaints (FTC and Econsumer) are good ones. The LA BBB may not be able to do anything since Kraken Opus is in the UK and no longer has a branch in Los Angeles (the UK president fired the LA office back in March).

    ALSO: There is no update on the Opus Augmented Reality portion that was advertised to accompany our orders. The technology itself exists, however (it is my belief) due to Kraken Opus removing trigger images we were to have used to initiate the Reality (web version) of our orders, that there is an issue with Trademark/Copyrights in the “likeness” of MJ. (The images were specific images of MJ on his toes). Those were removed from Kraken’s site in April– along with other information.

    Lastly, if you want to purchase the MJ Opus and you are in the USA– your 2 best sources (both official vendors) are Amazon.com (http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B002V7FYL0/ref=dp_olp_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1269485421&sr=8-1&condition=all use OPUS MEDIA GROUP vendor ONLY!) and MJ’s site through Sony (http://www.michaeljackson.com/us/home ) The service is VERY prompt. These are the only 2 sites I’m aware of that are OFFICIAL. Outside the USA, I think the only option is Kraken Opus. I have heard of no problems with RECENT orders– just the ones made before January (well– a few after that).

    Again, if you have ANY questions about the MJ Opus, please email me and I’ll be happy to help/answer what I can. I am not affiliated with Kraken Opus, Ticketmaster or Sony– just a MJ fan who has helped MJ Fans in over 47 countries get their Opus, working directly with the executives at Kraken Opus.
    Cali
    cali_mj_fan@yahoo.com

    PS. If you are reading this and you order the PRINCE OPUS: 21 Nights — please see this post on my blog: http://calimjfan.blogspot.com/2010/06/did-you-order-prince-21-nights-opus.html Pre-order cost is $2,100.00 USD. Most pre-ordered back in April 2009 (YES, the date is correct).

    MIMI! Where are you darlin? Email me!

  11. Thanks for letting us know. I was actually thinking of ordering this product because I am big fan of Michael. Now that I know that “Kraken Opus” cannot be trusted, i will order it from Amazon.

  12. Far too many fans are STILL having issues with Kraken Opus — many have still not received their Michael Jackson Opus or any communication from Kraken Opus. PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT THE ISSUE IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO KARL FOWLER, FOUNDER & CEO of KRAKEN OPUS UK — BUT YOU CAN STILL FILE A COMPLAINT with the FTC, the LOS ANGELES BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU and http://www.econsumer.gov/ (as the prior poster has done). Please refer to the Michael Jackson Official Website at http://www.michaeljackson.com/us/node/569336 for information on additional problems with the MJ Opus, as well as for instructions for filing an FTC complaint and calling the Los Angeles BBB. You can also refer to the California MJ Fan blog at http://calimjfan.blogspot.com/2010/01/opus-communication-from-andy-kraken.html for additional information.

  13. I purchased the Opus back in March.I had a traumatic month with the death of a family member and thought this gift would be a nice collection to my coffee table books.I paid 274.00.Its now May and I haven’t heard a thing but now I’m pissed.I reported them to Econsumer.gov which handles foreign business merchants and the Federal Trade Comission.I have contact them numerous times and now I’m going to sit back and wait to see who will respond first.

  14. I had pre-ordered two Michael Jackson Opus’s thru http://www.krakenopus.com in August 2009. I haven’t recd either nor has anyone come forward with a remedy and its End Jan 2010 almost 5 months. Now here I come to know that the pre-order price was higher then B&N price. These guys should really be taken to task and should be penalized adequately for misleading the fans. I hope the Opus’s include the TWO gloves for handling to prevent it from being soiled, the pull-out centerfold of the Memorial Wall signing, and Opus 3-D Reality Card.

    Anyone knows how to get the http://www.krakenopus.com people to respond. I am based in India.

    Cheers
    Ash

  15. Far too many fans are having the same problem. Please refer to the Michael Jackson Official Website at http://www.michaeljackson.com/us/node/569336 for information on additional problems with the MJ Opus, as well as for instructions for filing an FTC complaint and calling the Los Angeles BBB. You can also refer to the California MJ Fan blog at http://calimjfan.blogspot.com/2010/01/opus-communication-from-andy-kraken.html for additional information or to contact the blogger who has finally been able to speak with Andy at OMG/Kraken Opus regarding the delivery issues.

  16. Did you see The Official Michael Jackson Opus Book on the Today Show video? MSNBC’s Natalie Morales spoke with Jeff Wald about the book. You may ask MSNBC for Jeff’s contact.

    That was unpleasant experience. Sorry for you

Leave a Reply

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

Dru Ealons

Traditionally Modern ~ Thats My Point of View

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

