The reinvention of Newsweek Magazine

The new and reinvented Newsweek came out recently.   I received my copy in the mail yesterday.  It looks different and it has a different feel to it as well. The layout is much different from the old Newsweek.  When I read about the changes I was expecting some thin magazine with only 40 pages. They surprised me with 92 pages even though some of those pages are filled with ads.

According to Newsweek Editor Jon Meacham:

There will, for the most part, be two kinds of stories in the new NEWSWEEK. The first is the reported narrative—a piece, grounded in original observation and freshly discovered fact, that illuminates the important and the interesting. The second is the argued essay—a piece, grounded in reason and supported by evidence, that makes the case for something.

Meacham also talks about the new structure of Newsweek:

This first issue of the reinvented NEWSWEEK is, we hope, a model of the form. We have rethought the structure of the magazine, and there are now only four sections: SCOPE (for short-form pieces, including Conventional Wisdom and the rechristened Indignity Index); THE TAKE (our columnists); FEATURES (longer-form narratives and essays); and THE CULTURE. The magazine will close with a graphic feature titled Back Story, a visual dissection or explanation of an important issue or phenomenon that will satisfy one’s curiosity or pique interest.

I started reading Newsweek while I was in high school and I’ve been subscribing to the magazine since, well forever.  Before the Information Age invaded our world, magazines like Newsweek and Time let me know what was going on not only in the United States but the world.  My current subscription ends in late July. I’ve been debating as to whether it’s worth renewing my subscription. Old reading habits are hard to let go. Yes I still read the magazine and I also check out the Newsweek.com site on a regular basis.  I guess the next few issues will help me decide whether to renew.

The current issue features an exclusive interview with President Barack Obama.

newsweek

obama_family

A Conversation with Barack Obama

What he’s like now

By Jon Meacham
NEWSWEEK

He did it because he could. Last Wednesday, in the gathering cool of late afternoon, Marine One brought President Barack Obama to the tarmac at Andrews Air Force Base. As he climbed down the steps of the helicopter, returning the salute of the Marine guard, he was slated to stride straight on to Air Force One, for a flight west to the heat of Arizona. Looking to his right, however, he saw a small crowd of schoolchildren and military personnel gathered with cameras and homemade signs. Abruptly but gracefully, the president broke toward the spectators; gathered journalists and security scurried to follow his lead. He shook every outstretched hand and, reaching the end of the line, deftly avoided eye contact with the gaggle of reporters. As he turned to make the walk back to Air Force One, a breeze blew—and everyone scurried anew, to keep up with him.

It was that kind of day—and it has been that kind of presidency: Barack Obama, moving as he wishes to move, and the world bending itself to him. Four hours later, sitting comfortably in his airborne office, coatless with a crimson tie, his laptop open, his blue Air Force One flight jacket hanging on the back of his swivel chair, the president was, as ever, in control. (He acknowledged that he saw the new Star Trek recently because “everybody was saying I was Spock.”) After a series of questions about what he has learned in his first months in the White House, I asked him whether he would read over a paragraph from his book, The Audacity of Hope, and react to it.

Check out the rest of the article here.

president_barack_obama2

A Highly Logical Approach

What He’s Learned
A Conversation with Barack Obama

By Jon Meacham
NEWSWEEK

In a 30-minute interview aboard Air Force One en route from Washington to Phoenix last Wednesday, President Obama talked with NEWSWEEK’s Jon Meacham about Afghanistan, Iran, Israel, Pakistan, Dick Cheney—and Star Trek. Edited excerpts:

Meacham: The theme here is what you’ve learned. What’s the hardest thing you’ve had to do?

The President: Order 17,000 additional troops into Afghanistan. There is a sobriety that comes with a decision like that because you have to expect that some of those young men and women are going to be harmed in the theater of war. And making sure that you have thought through every angle and have put together the best possible strategy, but still understanding that in a situation like Afghanistan the task is extraordinarily difficult and there are no guarantees, that makes it a very complicated and difficult decision.

Check out the entire interview with President Obama here.

5 responses

  1. I first subscribed to NEWSWEEK in 1969, whilst still in the 11th grade…

    At a time when other kids were buying “dime bags” and beer with their money, I actually put a small scholarship stipend that I’d received toward paying for my subscription!

    Reading NEWSWEEK was “de riguer” for me all through my last years at high school, my university days, my post-graduate job-seeking years, my marriage, raising kids, and now my retirement…it’s hard to believe it, but I’ve been a loyal subscriber for 40 years now.

    No longer: when my current subscription lapses in 2010, the magazine and I will be parting company. I most assuredly do NOT like the current format, and hardly even bother to glance through it anymore.

    What a pity NEWSWEEK has elected to change like it did. I mourn the passing of an old friend.

  2. My wife and I agree that the new Newsweek is bad . The small print is too hard on our eyes. Please don’t send any renewals because this it. I am sure you will save enough on the small print to pay for the fewer readers. As huguet said ” This is NEW COKE all over again!”

  3. I have been subscribing to NEWSWEEK for many years and I hate the new design. I can best show my disgust by not renewing my subscription when it is due to expire. I also subscribe to TIME and hate what they have done to their magazine. How the mighty have fallen.

  4. merlyn huguet

    What can I say,I loved the old NEWSWEEK and I hate the new NEWSWEEK! This is NEW COKE all over again!

  5. I hate their new format. The ads, which I ignore, look the same as the news articles, makin skimming more difficult.

    Tes not too late to go back.

Leave a Reply

Nia Forrester Books

Woman-Centered Fiction for Today's Woman of Color

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

