Goodbye Tom Joyner, hello Steve Harvey Part 2

The Chicago Tribune has an interview with Tom Joyner relating to the TJMS (Tom Joyner Morning Show) getting booted off Chicago radio station V-103 last month.  He’s been replaced by the Steve Harvey Morning Show.

Tom Joyner calls firing from Clear Channel’s WVAZ-FM 102.7 in Chicago different from the others

Radio host Tom Joyner is based in Dallas but roots are in Chicago

Phil Rosenthal
Media

Monday’s edition of “The Tom Joyner Morning Show” was typical, as far as Joyner was concerned. There were laughs, some solid information and encouragement. “And I talked a little bit about people who get laid off,” he said. “Because every day there’s a story about people getting laid off.”

Four hours or so after he got off the air, he got the call. One of that day’s stories would be his: Clear Channel pulled the plug on his show in Chicago, where his radio roots reach back to 1972.

Joyner’s Dallas-based syndicated program, while continuing to be heard in dozens of smaller markets around the country as well as online, was replaced immediately on WVAZ-FM 102.7, his outlet here for the past 13 years, by comedian Steve Harvey, whose show has been airing on WGCI-FM 107.5.

“I’ve been fired a bunch of times, but this was up there,” Joyner said by phone. “You know, I worked every radio station in Chicago, including as a cab dispatcher. I didn’t walk from one station to the other, I got kicked. But I haven’t been kicked in a long time, so this felt a lot different.”

Suddenly, Joyner was off the air in the city he still considered home long after he returned to Dallas.

“Tom has been a great partner,” said Earl Jones, president and Chicago market manager of Clear Channel. “This wasn’t about that. This is about the direction we have to move.”

Replacing Joyner, 59, on V103 with Harvey, 53, whose show is syndicated by a Clear Channel subsidiary, opened a slot for a new local WGCI morning program the company plans to launch Wednesday. The thinking is it will pay off long term.

Arbitron’s switch from diaries to Portable People Meters to produce the radio audience estimates used to set ad rates has been accompanied by rating declines for almost all urban formats. But it has produced new data on listening habits.

Folks in Chicago are still ticked off but you can listen to the TJMS on Black America Web.

3 responses

  1. Kevin, I agree. When I listen to the morning show on the radio it’s for entertainment and news purposes. If I wanted to be preached to on the radio I can find that on one of the Christian radio stations.

    A friend of mine at work just can’t understand why I don’t listen to Steve Harvey. I’m just not interested in listening to him on the radio.

  2. SSG. Kevin A Powell

    I’ve been fortunate enough to listen to both Joyner and Harvey. In my humble opinion,…I’d rather have Mr. Joyner. I like Steve and his show is funny and informative. But if I want a sermon I’ll seek one out through the proper means. Steve flat out tells you if you’re not a religous person, as much as he is, your life means nothing. I’m happy Mr. Harvey has a strong faith but when I tune into his show I don’t care to hear about it for the first 5 mins on air and all through out the morning program.

  3. I don’t feel this was a wise decison. Tom Joyner and Steve Harvey do not have the same listening audiences. I am fortunate to be able to listen to Tom Joyner on another station. I still listen to V103, but I do not listen to Steve Harvey. It is a shame that the two were put in the same category.

Leave a Reply

Nia Forrester Books

Woman-Centered Fiction for Today's Woman of Color

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

Dru Ealons

Traditionally Modern ~ Thats My Point of View

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

