Goodbye Tom Joyner, hello Steve Harvey

Speaking of the Tom Joyner Morning Show, it’s been dumped from WVAZ-FM (V-103) in Chicago and replaced by the Steve Harvey Morning Show this week.  Some Chicago listeners are livid over this move.  Chicago was the TJMS’s largest market.   WVAZ  is owned by Clear Channel.

Steve Harvey replacing Tom Joyner on WVAZ
Tom Joyner’s syndicated morning show dumped after 13 years

By Phil Rosenthal

Tribune reporter

March 24, 2009

Clear Channel Chicago is bouncing Tom Joyner’s syndicated morning show after 13 years on WVAZ-FM 102.7, moving “The Steve Harvey Morning Show” from WGCI-FM 107.5 to replace it beginning Tuesday.

Harvey will simulcast on both stations until March 31. Clear Channel did not say Monday what its plans are after that for WGCI-FM. Any change occurring on April 1 risks being interpreted as an April Fool’s Day prank.

“Tom Joyner has been a great partner with V103 for the past 13 years, making it difficult to part ways,” WVAZ-FM program director Derrick Brown said. “We appreciate all Tom’s hard work and wish him continued success.”

WGCI-FM has aired this incarnation of Harvey’s syndicated show since 2007. But he has deep roots in the Chicago market, beginning his radio career in 1996 at WGCI-FM as a replacement for Joyner, whose decades-long connection began when legendary local radio executive Marv Dyson hired him at Johnson Publishing’s WJPC.

“Steve Harvey is an entertainment and marketing juggernaut,” Brown said. “There are very few entertainers who have successfully tackled radio, TV, film, stage, online and publishing. … Being a ‘King of Comedy,’ nobody can beat Steve being funny.”

The Steve Harvey Morning Show airs on WHUR in Washington, D.C. The Tom Joyner Morning Show airs on WMMJ 102.3 here in D.C. I tried listening to Steve Harvey a few times and I just couldn’t get into his show.   He’s a little too country for my taste.  The show didn’t impress me that much compared to the TJMS.  I’ve previously stated my views about the TJMS and how sometimes they get on my nerves.  When Smooth Jazz 105.9 was still around (damn I still miss that station), I use to switch over to them when the TJMS got on my nerves.  It was nice to have a different radio station to listen to.  Now I just listen to my cds, my gigabeat or Pandora.

2 responses

  1. I loved the Tom Joyner show, but when Steve Harvey aired his 1st show (technical difficulties and all) I immediately switched. I like Harvey’s frankness esp about God not being through with him yet. Tommy’s prank calls are The Best! Nephew is so talented. I understand he’s the voice of Eugene.
    I am an older adult (54) who I likes up to date music most. The music format is versitle.
    Carla and Shirley know how to deal with the strong pride driven character that Steve exudes. I’ve always wondered what happened with he and Jackie Reid? As an author and husband 3 times Steve lends a wealth of view points to the subject of relationships. I’d buy he and his x-bodyguards’ books.

  2. william swint

    I was sorry to Steave Harvey’s contract was renewed and disappointed Tom Joyner was not coming back as well the powers to be should re think thei position on both shows because they had a large fo;llowing.

Leave a Reply

Nia Forrester Books

Woman-Centered Fiction for Today's Woman of Color

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

