The end of the 2008 Beijing Summer Olympics

The Olympics are over. So what’s a person to do now? I enjoyed the past two weeks even though NBC’s Olympic coverage was so so. While the network showed extensive coverage of swimming and gymnastics which I do enjoy watching, the coverage for other sports seemed somewhat choppy. It’s like we got bits and pieces of track and field. At least I got to see a variety of Olympic sports on MSNBC and USA. And thank goodness for my dvr. There is no way I could have stayed up and watched everything for two weeks. What I couldn’t stay up for I just recorded. My dvr was busy. I watched the mountain bike and bmx competitions for the first time. I also checked out the rhythmic gymnastics competition. The Russian team won the gold medal.

Anyway some of the more enjoyable moments from the Olympics besides Michael Phelps and Usain Bolt included the mens basketball gold medal competition. Congrats to Team USA.  They won the gold medal by defeating Spain.

NBC had the nerve to show this game live at 2:00am in the morning. Like I mentioned before, thank goodness for my dvr. Even though my dvr was recording the game, I woke up around 2:30am and saw some of the game. The game was too close so I went back to bed and watched the entire game later that morning after reading the results on the net.

Congrats to the womens basketball team. They won the gold medal by defeating Australia.

And congrats to Bryan Clay for winning the gold medal in the decathlon.

Congrats to mens marathon winner Samuel Kamau Wansiru. He became the first Kenyan to win the gold medal in the marathon.

One of the most exciting track and field events was the womens 4×400 relay race featuring Sanya Richards, Allyson Felix, Monique Henderson and Mary Wineberg. Sanya was the anchor for the team. She was behind the Russian runner and eventually passed her and led Team USA to a gold medal. This was one exciting race.

Team USA also won the mens 4×400 relay race.

Now that the 2008 Beijing Summer Olympics are over I’m suffering from Olympic withdrawal.  The 2010 Winter Olympics will be held in Vancouver, British Columbia.  Then it’s on to London’s 2012 Summer Olympics.  I can’t wait.  It will be interesting to see who will get the 2016 Summer Olympics.  The cities in the running are Chicago(USA), Madrid(Spain), Rio de Janiero(Brazil) and Tokyo(Japan).  The IOC will make the final selection on October 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Nia Forrester Books

Woman-Centered Fiction for Today's Woman of Color

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

