Living in the past

When you hear people talk about how they wish we could go back to the good ole days, this article pretty much talks about some of the life they wish we could go back to. I couldn’t believe what I was reading. 

 

Time Warp Wives: Meet the women who really do live in the past

By Diana Appleyard

The credit crunch, a knife crime epidemic – no wonder so many of us are sick of the 21st century. Most of us just grumble, but some women have taken radical action to escape what they see as the soulless grind of modern life. Meet the ‘Time Warp Wives’, who believe that life, especially marriage, was far more straightforward in the Thirties, Forties and Fifties.

The 1950’s

Joanne Massey, 35, lives in a recreation of a 1950s home in Stafford with her husband Kevin, 42, who works as a graphics application designer. Joanne is a housewife. She says:

I love nothing better than fastening my pinny round my waist and baking a cake for Kevin in my 1950s kitchen.

I put on some lovely Frank Sinatra music and am completely lost in my own little fantasy world. In our marriage, I am very much a lady and Kevin is the breadwinner and my protector.

Neither of us drinks and our social life revolves around visiting like-minded friends for tea and cakes.

I try not to interact with the modern world too much at all. Shopping in supermarkets is an ordeal, and I only recently realised that Tony Blair is no longer Prime Minister as I don’t read newspapers – they are just too distressing.

You can read the entire article here.

I know folks have the right to live the life they want. But what will these women do if their husbands get bored with them, leave them or die? And not keeping up with what’s going on in the world? I know today’s news can get depressing but I still wanna know what’s going on in the world.

While some folks think that life was much simpler back in the 30’s, 40’s and 50’s it wasn’t easy for all.  Especially if you were a person of color.  And who’s to say all women were happy back in the day. 

Oh well, to each his/her own.

Leave a Reply

Nia Forrester Books

Woman-Centered Fiction for Today's Woman of Color

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

