Put away the cell phone

I saw a very interesting article in the Prince Georges Gazette last week. The article, Put away the cell phone, show some manners, talks about cell phone etiquette.

Put away the cell phone, show some manners

by Linda Phelps
Staff Writer

I have a love-hate relationship with cell phones. Sometimes I wonder how I ever got along without one. Because my mother has heart disease, my son is living in another state and my husband travels a great deal, I feel comforted knowing that they can reach me almost any time.

But I am frustrated at those who have no sense of cell phone etiquette. These are the people who allow their phone to ring inside of a restroom, or, worse yet, pick it up and hold a conversation. You are ready to leave but wait hoping that the person will be intelligent enough to say ‘‘let me call you back.”

But it doesn’t happen. You don’t want to flush in case the person on the other end of the phone does not realize that the person he or she is talking to is in the bathroom. So you wait a few minutes hoping that a modicum of intelligence will kick in and the recipient of the call will hang up. After a few uncomfortable minutes of listening to someone’s personal conversation, you flush, wash your hands and leave. I always wonder how one explains the sound of a flushing toilet.

A few days ago I was waiting in line at the grocery store and the person in front of me received a call just as he walked up to the cashier. Now, I may be wrong, but, again, to me, the smart thing to do would have been to say ‘‘let me call you back.”

However, this was not the case. The cashier said good evening and the customer kept on talking on his cell phone. As the cashier tried to count out his change the customer continued talking on the phone. The cashier said have a good evening and received no acknowledgement that she was even heard.

I shook my head in amazement at the rudeness of this person and the cashier said ‘‘this happens all the time.” I suggested she tell her boss to post a sign saying ‘‘hang up the phone for service.”

This article deserves a round of applause. Folks holding a cell phone conversation in the bathroom while doing their business? I haven’t experienced that but I have seen some folks running their mouths on their cell phones while the cashier is ringing up their items in the grocery store. Talk about rude. While the cashier is speaking to the customer, the customer continues their conversation on the phone.

Leave a Reply

Nia Forrester Books

Woman-Centered Fiction for Today's Woman of Color

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

