Congrats to Rafael Nadal!!!

Congrats to Rafael Nadal!!!

What a match yesterday!!! Rafa defeated defending Wimbledon Men’s champ Roger Federer 6-4, 6-4, 6-7 (5), 6-7 (8), 9-7 yesterday afternoon in what I can only describe as one of the greatest tennis matches I have ever seen. I’ve been a tennis fan since the 1980’s.

Nadal Ends Federer’s Reign at Wimbledon
By CHRISTOPHER CLAREY

WIMBLEDON, England — No man had beaten Roger Federer at Wimbledon since 2002. But in near darkness, one of the greatest tennis matches ever played concluded in the Wimbledon final Sunday with Roger Federer hitting a short forehand into the net and with a victorious Rafael Nadal flat on his back with camera flashes illuminating his drained and delighted face.

Nadal had come the closest to ending Federer’s streak at Wimbledon in last year’s final, pushing his friendly rival to five sets before ending up in tears in the locker room as Federer equaled Bjorn Borg’s modern men’s record with his fifth straight title.

Last year’s emotional tussle immediately took its place among the best Wimbledon finals, but this five-set classic — played on a rainy, gusty day — was better yet.

At 4 hours 48 minutes, it was the longest singles final in Wimbledon’s 131-year history and did not finish until 9:16 p.m. local time.

“The most important thing is to win the title,” said Nadal, who won, 6-4, 6-4, 6-7 (5), 6-7 (8), 9-7. “After that, you think about winning against the No. 1, probably the best player in history or close, and the fact it was so dramatic. But it’s one of the most powerful feelings I’ve had in my life.”

By the end, as hard as it was to see, the top-seeded Federer and the second-seeded Nadal had produced so much brilliant tennis under pressure that it seemed the most normal thing in the world that Federer smacked yet another ace to get out of trouble or that Nadal hunted down yet another sharply angled ground stroke and ripped an off-balance passing shot for a winner.

The capacity crowd at Centre Court, which had not diminished through two rain delays, continually roared with delight or surprise and took turns chanting each combatant’s first name, which is not the way these things usually work at proper Wimbledon.

I can’t believe I watched the entire match. After it was over I was exhausted, lol. Early yesterday morning I decided to record the match on my dvr. I’m so glad I did. My recording was originally scheduled for 9:00am to 3:00pm. But around 2:30pm I decided to extend the recording by two hours. It’s a good thing I did. Due to rain delays at Wimbledon the match didn’t end until after 9:00pm London time (after 4:00 pm EST).

I’ve been a Rafa fan for the past few years so I was excited that he finally won a non clay court Grand Slam.

Way to go Rafa!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Abagond

500 words a day on whatever I want

Manda Writes Things

A blog about things that irritate me

Dru Ealons

Traditionally Modern ~ Thats My Point of View

TheSnob

Life, Pop, Politics and Opinions by Danielle Belton

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Bag Lady Boutique

jewelry, adult costumes, dancewear, handbags, accessories

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

